Tuesday, September 27, 2011

The Mountain Goats - The Life Of The World To Come


The expression or application of human skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.

  • Gatefold
  • No lyrics
  • Purple vinyl available

  • Album Rating: 5/5 (Masterful)
  • Sound Quality: 4/5 (Great)
  • Packaging: 4.5/5 (Excellent)

The Mountain Goat's The Life Of The World To Come is art in every sense of the word. It is hauntingly beautiful; a masterpiece of emotion that will make you oblivious to the outside world - if only for an hour.

The Life Of The World To Come is - for the most part - a slow paced yet extremely well-thought out album that occasionally rocks. While tracks such as "1 John 4:16" and "Deuteronomy 2:10" are slow, thoughtful piano tunes, they are no less emotionally charged than the power hungry "Psalms 40:2". If you haven't guessed by now, every track on the album is named after a Bible verse, a strange, yet nonetheless interesting decision by singer/songwriter John Darnielle.

The vinyl is a wonderful edition to any Mountain Goats fan's collection, giving off a clear, crisp sound throughout the record. The version I have is a limited edition pressed on purple vinyl.

The packaging is very nicely done. It feels solid and the images look really cool on the 12" cover.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

The Dodos - Vistiter

  • Non-gatefold
  • No lyrics

  • Album Rating: 4.5/5 (Excellent)
  • Sound Quality: 5/5 (Perfect)
  • Packaging: 3/5 (Average)

Visiter is many things. Visiter is epic. Visiter is engaging. Visiter is unique.  Visiter is a damn fine album.

Visiter is the sophomore full-length by indie-folk duo The Dodos. With a unique percussive style that will knock your socks off and some incredible acoustic guitar work by frontman Meric Long,  Visiter is an album that captures the imagination in it's most primitive form.

The first single, "Fools", is a perfect demonstration of The Dodo's charismatic approach to the acoustic-folk style. If you are new to The Dodos, "Fools" is a great starting point. Other standouts include the sprawling, fast-paced foot stomper of a track, "Jodi", and the beautifully crafted, atmospheric "Ashley". "The Season" is a melodic and aggressive climax to the album that really shows off just what The Dodos are capable of in their songwriting. The questioning, repetitive, and sarcastic nature of the closing track, "God?", wraps everything up sweetly.

Due to the organic nature of Visiter, the vinyl version of the album sounds absolutely incredible! This is NOT an album to be listened to on headphones, this is an album meant to be felt all around you. It is crisp, clear, and the percussion will make your mouth water.

The packaging is basic, but nothing to complain about. It does come with some interesting drawings!

Friday, September 9, 2011

List: Top 10 albums Of 2009

10. Phoenix - Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

9. Say Hi - Oohs & Aahs

8. Sea Wolf - White Water, White Bloom

7. St. Vincent - Actor

6. Yawn - Yawn EP

5. The Mountain Goats - The Life Of The World To Come

4. Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavilion

3. Andrew Bird - Noble Beast

2. The Decemberists - The Hazards Of Love

1. Grizzly Bear - Veckitamest

Friday, September 2, 2011

Handsome Furs - Sound Kapital

  • Marble orange vinyl

  • Album Rating: 4.5/5 (Excellent)
  • Sound Quality: 4/5 (Great)
  • Packaging: 3.5/5 (Good)

One thing can be said with confidence about Montreal-based duo Handsome Furs: They are never boring. Consisting of Wolf Parade's Dan Boeckner and his wife, Alexei Perry, these indie-electro-punk rockers put out their third album, titled Sound Kapital in June.

Sound Kapital starts off on a strong note with "When I Get Back", and never slows down afterward. Every track is upbeat, exciting, and surprisingly emotional for an album consisting almost entirely of electronics. Boeckner belts out lyrics that are as intimate as the electronics are captivating, a blend that works extremely well, and proves that electronic music does not have to be the robotic, emotionless drivel that its critics say it is.

The vinyl is warm and welcoming, bringing out the complimenting sounds on the album wonderfully. It is pressed on heavy marbled orange wax.

The packaging is also quite well done. It is not a gatefold jacket, but the cover is thick and glossy. The inner jacket is a translucent orange plastic that looks great with the orange vinyl inside it.

Purchase Sound Kapital on vinyl here: Sound Kapital