Friday, June 10, 2011

Arcade Fire - Funeral

  • Gatefold
  • Lyrics included

  • Album Rating: 5/5 (Masterful)
  • Sound Quality: 5/5 (Perfect)
  • Packaging: 4.5/5 (Excellent)

Here it is! I finally managed to pick it up at Best Buy a few nights ago! So without further adieu, here is the review of Arcade Fire's 2004 debut album, Funeral.

Before Funeral, Arcade Fire's only release to date was a self-titled EP that was met with mixed reactions. Funeral, however, showed the world just what these kids from Canada could do. Hailed as a modern classic, Funeral is undoubtedly one album no one should miss.

Kicking things off with the beautiful and catchy "Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)", Funeral somehow manages to maintain its momentum throughout the entirety of the LP. "Wake Up", a track that is equal parts triumphant, hard-hitting, and unmistakably beautiful, is one that is sure to be remembered for decades. While songs such as "Une AnnĂ©e Sans Lumiere" and "Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles)" slow down in tempo, they are no less powerful, creating a sense of balance that makes this album what it is.

Funeral on wax is absolutely amazing. Turn it up nice and loud for a listening experience you won't soon forget. It was newly reissued on 180-gram vinyl.

The packaging is very well done, featuring a nice thick gatefold jacket that is even embossed. A small booklet is also included, with lyrics and credits featured inside.

Do not miss this album! Get Funeral on vinyl here (Amazon): Funeral (180 Gram Vinyl + Download)


  1. i heard this song quite a while back and i loved it. how much did you buy it for? sounds like it was pretty expensive

  2. Wake Up is my favorite Arcade Fire song... Wish I had the vinyl...

  3. thank you for this suggestion

  4. How much did you pay for it? I found this site selling old vinlys and i'm just curious

  5. This cover looks very cool.

  6. @ Phosports and Bremsy

    I used a gift card, but it cost about $18. Pretty standard for vinyl.