Sunday, April 17, 2011

Breathe Owl Breathe - Magic Central

  • Not gatefold
  • Lyrics included
  • Pink colored vinyl

  • Album Rating: 3.5/5 (Good)
  • Sound Quality: 3.5/5 (Good)
  • Packaging: 3.5/ (Good)

Michigan band Breathe Owl Breathe has been playing mellow indie folk since 2004, and with their latest LP, Magic Central, the trio continues to show that they are here to stay.

Unintentionally or not, Magic Central conjures up a feeling of longing for early Iron & Wine, featuring soft, beautiful vocals that are more whispered than sung. Singer Micah Middaugh even sports a beard that is nothing short of epic, rivaled only by Mr. Iron & Wine himself; Sam Beam. The album features whimsical lyrics and clever arrangements. For their catchy melodies and soothing atmospheres, songs like "Swimming" or "Own Stunts" are sure to stick in your head for days.

The vinyl sound pretty good, but is certainly not without its flaws. For such a minimalist album, wax should have suited Magic Central perfectly, but unfortunately, the songs sound slightly muddier than they should have. Still, it's not bad by any means and is definitely worth the purchase. Plus, it's pressed on hot pink marbled vinyl!

The LP is packaged in a non-gatefold sleeve but does come with a nice foldout newspaper-style insert that features all the lyrics and credits. One extra detail that did stand out to me was the inclusion of the yellow bird motif on the interior or the sleeve, the same one that is featured on the front cover.

Purchase Magic Central on vinyl here (Amazon): Magic Central


  1. Thanks for the review! I'm looking them up on iTunes now.

  2. Very thorough review will definitely have to check this one out.

  3. You collect all these right? I swear you have the finest! they're really lovely.

  4. Breathe Owl Breathe yeah, great to see another fan out there. This is a good album, thanks for sharing it man.

  5. i live in michigan! now i HAVE to go get this.